Upma3

Deciding on what to cook for breakfast is always tough for me. I don’t like spending much time fixing it and I am never too particular of having a big breakfast either. Sometimes just a cup of tea can keep me going till lunch time. But being the food and nutrition in-charge at home I can’t do that to my family. Lol. So I try to think of quick yet satisfying breakfast ideas. Earlier I used to try to get away with toast, cornflakes, oats, pancakes etc. but now I have given that a break and switched to a rather Indian style of breakfast. Carrot Upma has always been one of my preferred dishes for breakfast. So when I made it today morning I thought I would share it here. So if there’s anyone looking out for a quick morning meal idea , this is certainly for you. Check this out:

CARROT UPMA

Serves: 3 persons

Ingredients:

  • Rava/ Semolina – 1 ½ cups
  • Coconut oil – 2 tbsps
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Curry leaves – a few
  • Onion  sliced – 1 medium no.
  • Ginger chopped – 1 tsp
  • Green Chilis – 2 nos.
  • Carrot grated – 3/4 cup
  • Salt – to taste
  • Hot water – 3 cups

Method:

  • Dry roast the rava /semolina in a pan for about 5 mins stirring continuously so that its roasted uniformly. Transfer the roasted rava onto plate.
  • Heat some coconut oil in the same pan and add mustard seeds. When it starts spluttering, add the curry leaves, chopped ginger, slit green chilies and sliced onion. Add salt and sauté till the onions become soft. Then add the grated carrot and sauté for a minute or two.
  • Then add roasted rava into the pan and mix everything together for a minute and pour hot water to this and cook till the water has fully dried up.
  • Serve hot with any accompaniment of your choice. (I love it with banana, dates or sugar.)

Upma1

