Irachi pathiri3Have you ever thought of how quickly days turn into weeks and then to months and years. Time has flown by and it’s celebration time again. Ya.. I mean to say this little toddler blog has turned 2 on the 15th of this month.

When I first started this blog I had no idea if I would succeed in my attempt to make it one that benefits others, no matter how small a benefit that may be as I was a beginner myself then. But over these two years of being fully in-charge of my little kitchen aka ‘my lab’ and blogging all through that time I believe my culinary knowledge and skills have progressed pretty much. Moreover my recipes are being liked and tried out by many of my readers and I have been receiving great feedback. What more can I ask for? It means a lot to know that my efforts are being appreciated and valued. Loads of thanks to all my dear friends!

This time too I want to keep the birthday recipe traditional just like last year. And so here I take you to North Kerala, the so called Malabar region where you are once again going to savor the richness and goodness of authentic Malabar food. Irachi Pathiri is the star of the day and today I’m going to show you how to make them from scratch with step by step pictures.

I am a little behind schedule because I should have published this post before Eid but I couldn’t due to some other engagements. Nevertheless, here it is now and this Malabar delight is surely going to make your tea time a special one.

Ingredients:

For the Tortillas/ Pathiris:

  • Plain flour – 1 ½ cup
  • Wheat flour – ½ cup
  • Salt – to taste
  • Oil – 1 to 2 tbsp
  • Lukewarm water – to make dough

For the filling:

  • Chicken – 400gms
  • Salt – to taste
  • oil – 2 tbsp
  • Onion – 3 nos. big (chopped)
  • Ginger – 1 tsp (minced)
  • Garlic – 1 tsp (minced)
  • Green chilis – 2 nos. (finely chopped)
  • Curry leaves – few (chopped)
  • Corriander leaves – few sprigs (chopped)
  • Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Red chili powder – 1 tsp

For Coating and Frying:

  • Eggs – 1 to 2 nos.
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Sugar – 1 tsp
  • Oil – for deep frying

Method:

  • Clean and wash the chicken pieces. Boil the chicken with some salt. Once cooked drain the stock and de-bone the chicken and shred it using hands and set aside.

IP

  • Heat oil in a pan and sauté the onion. When it turns pink add in curry leaves and minced ginger, garlic and green chilies and sauté for a minute more and add turmeric powder, salt and red chili powder. When the raw smell of the spices disappears add the shredded chicken. Mix well to ensure that the chicken is uniformly mixed with the onion. Finally add in chopped coriander leaves and remove from heat.

IP2

  • Mix together plain flour, wheat flour, salt and oil. Gradually add lukewarm water and form a soft dough. Take some dough, the size of a large lime, and roll it out to about 4 inches in diameter. Roll out more pathiris or tortillas with the rest of the dough.

IP1

  • Place some filling at the centre  of  a tortilla/pathiri and place another rolled out tortilla over it and gently press the edges together and and flip it a few times between your hands to ensure that the filling is equally distributed.

IP3 IP4

  • Then form a pleat around the edge. [Pleating procedure: Pinch at a point on the edge and gently pull it outwards and fold it back inside and press it in position slightly away from the point you started, that is, the pleat will be at an angle and continue all along the edge.] Repeat this step until all the pathiris have been stuffed and pleated.

IP5 IP6 IP7

  • Heat oil in a pan and deep fry the stuffed pathiris until it turns golden brown.

IP8

  • In a separate bowl beat the eggs with salt and sugar. Dip the fried pathiris in the egg mix and fry on a slightly greased pan. Flip over and fry the other side too.

IP9

  • Place them on a serving dish and serve hot.

Irachi pathiri

