Red velvet2

Hello!! The first thing you all might be wondering is ..where did I disappear for so long. I was very much here but got caught up with a few things and didn’t find time to have a chat or share recipes with you all. From the last week of Ramadan, I have been busy and I have actually settled back to my daily routine only this week.

Though a few dishes that I made during last month are still on the waiting list yet to be posted, I wanted to make up for the long break and give you a sweet treat with these lovely cupcakes. I am posting this recipe despite the fact that I have already posted red velvet cake on my blog earlier and that is because they are just so irresistible with this frosting.

I have promised myself to make them soon again so that I can give some to my friends and relatives. Hope you all will try it out too and give me your feedback.

Makes: 12 cupcakes

Red Velvet 4

Ingredients:

For Red Velvet Cupcake

  • Plain flour – 1 ¼ cup
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Baking powder – ¼ tsp
  • Cocoa powder – 1 tbsp
  • Butter – 60 gm (@ room temp.)
  • Sugar – ¾ cup
  • Egg – 1 large no.
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Liquid Red food coloring – 1 tbsp
  • Buttermilk – 120ml
  • Baking soda – ½ tsp
  • White vinegar – ½ tsp

For Cream Cheese Frosting

  • Cream cheese – 100 gm
  • Thick cream – 80 gm
  • Vanilla essence – ½ tsp
  • Icing Sugar – ¼ cup (can be adjusted as per individual taste)

Red velvet1

Method:

  • Sift together plain flour, salt, baking powder and cocoa powder and set aside.
  • Combine the buttermilk and liquid red food coloring in cup.
  • In a large bowl, beat together softened butter and sugar with a hand mixer. Add an egg and beat again for 2 mins. Add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk alternatively (beginning and ending with the dry ingredients; 3 additions of dry ingredients and 2 additions of wet ingredients) beating after each addition.
  • Place the baking soda in a small bowl and pour vinegar into it. Wait for the bubbling to finish and add it into the cake batter and gently mix it in using a spatula. Spoon the batter into a cupcake tray or silicon cups fitted with cupcake liners.
  • Bake in an oven preheated at 180C for 20 mins or till a skewer or toothpick inserted into the cupcakes comes out clean. Cool to room temperature on a wire rack.
  • For the cream cheese frosting, beat together cream cheese, thick cream and icing sugar until well combined. Transfer into a piping bag and pipe onto the cupcakes. Sprinkle some cake crumbs on top and refrigerate for 5 to10 mins and serve.

Red Velvet 3

