Kaai Ada2

Kaai Ada…..did I see a smile there..you’ve got to, because anyone who has tasted this snack once can never be not wanting to taste it again. It is one of the top ranking in the wide varieties of malabar snacks and it’s also popular and much loved in other parts of Kerala.

It is more popularly known as Unnakkaaya but in my family we often use the other name and I somehow started getting a notion that Unnakkaya is what the ones with coconut filling are called. (Yaa..by the way there are two types of fillings; egg and other one coconut) Though now I figured that it’s not true. 

My first trial was Kaai Ada with coconut filling because I was not sure if they would come out well, and I didn’t want all the eggs wasted, as it requires bit of a knack. Hey! I’m no way trying to stop you from trying this rather I am just trying to motivate you with my story as I got it right the first and now this second time with egg filling. My MIL is a great expert at Kaai Ada making and she makes them with such a skill that I just sit and watch her. But that ofcourse only comes through years of experience.

I am personally a big fan of plantains and eggs..and not to mention the combination, it’s just something to die for. I hope you too will feel the same after tasting them and here comes the recipe:

Makes: 10 nos

Kaai Ada

KAAI ADA / UNNAKKAYA

Ingredients:

  • Plantain – 700gms (not too ripe)
  • Ghee or oil – for frying

For Filling:

  • Egg – 3 nos.
  • Finely chopped onion – 1 tsp
  • Sugar – 9 tsp
  • Cardamom powder – ½ tsp
  • Chopped cashews – 1 ½ tbsp
  • Raisins – 1 ½ tbsp
  • Ghee – 1 tbsp

Method:

  • Wash and steam the plantains with skin for about 15 to 20 mins till its well cooked. Then place them on a plate and allow to cool. Then remove the skin and mash the plantains till it becomes smooth. (Use your hands for this step). Sprinkle some water in between if it seems to go dry.

Kaai 2

  • For the filling, in a bowl mix together the eggs, sugar and cardamom powder. Heat ghee in a pan and add the onion and fry for a few seconds. Then add in raisins and chopped cashews and when it turns golden and the raisins puff up, pour the egg mixture into it and cook on low flame. Keep mixing till there is no moisture left in it and the eggs get fully cooked and scrambled. Remove from fire and set aside.

Kaai 1

  • Before you start forming the Kai adas, take a piece of plastic sheet or aluminium foil for covering your work surface and apply some water or oil over it to prevent sticking. (I have tried both but water works better for me) Take some mashed plantain, the size of a large lemon and shape it into a ball. Then place it on the aluminium foil or plastic sheet and flatten in to a disc.

Kaai3

  • Place some filling along the diameter and fold one side over to wrap up the filling. Gently separate the foil from it and seal the Kaai ada by working your hands at the joint. Slightly wet your fingers and run them over the joint to ensure that it doesn’t open up while frying. Repeat the process till all the mashed plantain and egg filling is used up.

Kaai4

Kaai5

kaai Ada 1

  • Then heat some oil or ghee in a pan and shallow fry the Kaai Ada and serve hot.

Picture 144

