Trifle1

I have been planning to make Trifle Pudding since the first week of this month and the ingredients have been sitting in my kitchen cabinet since then. I really wanted to get it done this weekend but I was my lethargic self. But somehow I managed to  push myself to begin. I always have a big starting trouble but once I’m into something I do it patiently and in a relatively organised manner. And so was this time.

When I finished, I surprisingly had enough pudding to serve about 10 to 12 people and I din’t have the least idea what to do. I knew it was not a healthy option to keep the entire thing for ourselves and though we could finish it over a week’s time the pudding would also lose its freshness and flavor. So I thought we could pay a visit to our relatives and give them a share but that somehow didn’t work out. But I didn’t have to bother much because the two of us finally ended up happily emptying about 5 person’s portion. And luckily the next day we had some guests and they were served the remaining. So in short, my Trifle Pudding story had a happy ending.

Servings: 10 persons

Trifle2

TRIFLE PUDDING

Ingredients:

For Sponge Cake:

  • Eggs – 2 nos.
  • Sugar – 7 tbsp
  • Vanilla Essence – 1/2 tsp
  • Plain flour – 7 tbsp
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp

For Fruit layer:

  • Canned fruit cocktail – 400 gm

For Jelly:

  • Flavored jelly – 1 packet

For Custard:

  • Milk – 750 ml
  • Custard powder – 50gms
  • Sugar – 5 to 6 tbsp

For Topping:

  • Sweetened Whipped Cream – 1 cup

Method:

  • For Sponge cake: Sift together plain flour and salt. In a separate bowl, beat together eggs and sugar using a hand mixer till the mixture turns pale and fluffy.  Add vanilla essence and finally fold in the dry ingredients and pour the batter into a prepared cake tin and bake for 15 mins at 180 C or till a skewer inserted comes out clean. Allow the cake to cool completely and cut it into cubes or slices.
  • For Jelly: Prepare jelly as per directions given on the packet and refrigerate. Then cut the jelly into cubes after setting.
  • For Vanilla custard: Dissolve custard powder in 100 ml of cold milk.In a saucepan, heat the remaining milk. When the milk is warm add sugar and stir. Once the milk starts simmering, gradually pour in the custard paste whisking all the while to prevent lumps from forming. Then remove from heat and cool to room temperature.
  • Assembling: In a glass bowl, arrange the cake pieces in a layer at the bottom. Slightly moisten the cakes with some milk or the syrup from the canned fruits. Arrange a layer of chopped fruits over the cake. Next top it with jelly cubes. Pour the prepared custard over it and finally top with whipped cream. Refrigerate over night or for a minimum of 2 hours.

Trifle

Notes:

  • You can spare yourself the trouble of making the cake from scratch and just get away by buying a sponge or pound cake. Jam rolls are also a lovely alternative.
  • Use a glass bowl for serving, if you have an option, so that the  layers of the pudding will be visible.
  • You can also use different colors of jelly to make it more interesting. For example red, green and yellow.
  • Instead of making a layer of whipped cream, you may even gently fold it into the custard to make the custard lighter and add a fluffiness to it.
