ADMC1

From the time I was a kid I loved cooking and baking. I enjoyed experimenting with food and creating less common or sometimes unusual dishes. While reading story books, I liked it when dishes such as Bangers and mash, Biscuits and gravy, Chicken casserole, Apple pie, Yorkshire pudding and others were mentioned, even though I didn’t know what these dishes looked or tasted like then.

During summer vacations I used to cook lunch or dinner, sometimes once in a week. But deciding the menu and finding an appropriate recipe was always a hectic thing because I wouldn’t easily settle with the first recipe I get for a dish. I would hunt for other recipes and finally end up mixing all of them and making my own version of it.My sister who is a lot younger to me was my helping hand then. She used to get irritated with being given only tasks like washing the vegetables or fruits, stirring, handing me out the ingredients and all such uninteresting jobs.

Apple Dapple Cake was our one such joint venture. I think that was the first cake we baked together. So this is specially for her from me.

ADMC2

This is, no doubt, an easy cupcake and you can even bake it as a single round cake or as a loaf, its absolutely your choice. I opted for mini cupcakes just for change and fun sake.

Servings: Makes about 55 mini cupcakes (of size 6)

MINI APPLE DAPPLE CUPCAKES

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour – 2 cups
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp leveled
  • Salt – 1/3 tsp
  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • Eggs – 2 nos.
  • Oil – ¾ cup
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Apple – 2 nos.
  • Milk – upto ¼ cup

ADMC

Method:

  • Sift together flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl.
  • Wash, peel, core and chop the apples.
  • In a separate bowl beat together eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla essence till everything is well combined. This might take about 3 to 4 mins.
  • Fold in the dry ingredients into the egg mixture.
  • Add the chopped apples and mix again.
  • At this stage if the batter seems too thick, add milk little at a time and mix and adjust the consistency of the batter.
  • Place the cupcake liners in the cupcake tray and fill up to 3/4th of each cup.
  • Bake in an oven preheated at 180C for about 18mins or till a skewer /toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  • Cool on a wire rack before use.

ADMC3

