DSCF4845

From the time I was a child, coffee was my favourite and I used to like it milky and frothy. I still remember how much I used to enjoy sipping all the froth first. Later on when I learned about the ill effects of coffee on health I reduced my coffee consumption and switched to tea.

It was on the first day of this year that I had masala chai for the first time. We were at an Indian restaurant and had ordered combo meals and the chai came as a part of the combo. I was disappointed at first to know it was masala chai. But at the end I really loved the taste. All the spices were in a perfect ratio and the chai was a perfect blend of flavours.

I tried to recreate the masala chai in my kitchen. I had to experiment with many spices in diferent ratios till I was happy with the end result. Now that I’ve found the perfect chai, I want you all to try it too.

Serves: 1 person

Ingredients:

  • Tea dust – 1 tsp heaped
  • Crushed ginger – 3/4 tsp
  • Cardamom – 1 no.
  • Cinnamon – 1″ piece
  • Black pepper corns – 10 nos.
  • Water – 1/3 cup
  • Milk – 2/3 cup
  • Sugar – to taste

Method:

  • Heat water along with the spices in a saucepan. Once it starts boiling, add sugar and tea dust and allow to boil for a minute more.
  • Now add milk and wait for it to boil and then remove from heat and strain into a cup. (The idea of boiling the tea for so long is to give it enough time for the flavours to blend into the tea.)
  • Enjoy your masala chai with your favourite snack.
