Image

I have lately been very much engrossed in my paper crafts that I couldn’t catch up on my blog. Two things that really entertain me and keep me busy – cooking & creative craft. For me, both are ways to relax and experiment new ideas and its a great feeling to get the desired outcome.

Anyways…before I get a little too carried away.. hope all my friends are doing well and enjoying life as much as I am.

Today, I have some rice flakes dosa & tomato chutney to serve you. Oh by the way, I guess I better not serve it because I made it last week and guests should only be served freshly cooked food. So lets make a deal, i’ll share the recipe for both the dosa and chutney here and you guys try it out in your kitchen. Done?!

Ingredients:

For Aval / Rice flakes Dosa

  • White Rice – 2 cups
  • Aval / Rice flakes – 1/2 cup
  • Butter milk – 3 cups
  • Salt – to taste
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp

For Tomato Chutney

  • Oil – 3 tbsp
  • Whole dried red chili – 4 nos.
  • Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
  • Cumin seeds – 3/4 tsp
  • Curry leaves – 10 leaves
  • Cashew nuts – 6 nos.
  • Garlic  – 3 cloves
  • Ginger(1″ piece) – 2 nos
  • Green chili – 2 nos.
  • Asfoetida – a pinch
  • Tomatoes (large) – 2 nos
  • Salt – to taste
  • Coriander leaves (chopped) –  1 tbsp
  • Mint leaves (chopped) – 1 tbsp
  • Grated Coconut – 5 tbsps
  • Lemon juice/ Tamarind paste –  3 tsps

Dosa1

For Aval / Rice flakes Dosa

  • Wash the white rice and drain. Soak the white rice and rice flakes in buttermilk overnight.
  • Drain excess buttermilk, if any, into a separate bowl and grind the soaked rice and rice flakes to form a smooth batter. Add the drained buttermilk or a little water in case the batter seems too thick. The batter should be of medium consistency, not too thick and not too runny.
  • Mix in salt and baking powder into the batter and leave aside for about 20 mins.
  • Heat a non-stick pan and pour a ladle full of the batter at the center (do not spread the batter) and cook covered  till  tiny pores appear on the top of the dosa. It will take around 2 to 3 mins per dosa.

Image

For Tomato Chutney

  • Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds and cumin seeds. Once they pop, add whole red chilies, curry leaves, cashew nuts, ginger, garlic and green chili and saute for a minute.
  • Then add asfoetida, salt and tomatoes and cook till the tomatoes are mashed up.
  • Add the chopped mint, coriander leaves and coconut. Stir for a few seconds and remove from fire and set aside to cool.
  • Once it has cooled, grind it with lemon juice or tamarind paste.
  • Enjoy Aval Dosa with Tomato chutney.
