Kaai Kumsi

Hii dear readers. I’m back after a short span of busy life. I was so occupied with my daily chores and office work that I actually got almost no time to spend on my blog. Even my cooking experiments were minimized to usual daily food. By the way, there’s a grand news for you all. Hiba’s Kitchen is one year old now and I’m extremely glad and ever thankful to all my dear friends who have supported me and my blog all through our first year and always found time to visit this humble space. I hope your support and encouragement will always be there for Hiba’s Kitchen.

I have a simple malabar recipe for today yet it’s yummy and a good way to celebrate.  I would like to dedicate this post to one of my dear friends, Lata ji, and I wish her all the best for her new blog. So here is the recipe:

Servings: 6 persons

Ingredients:

  • Plantain – 3 nos
  • Egg – 6 nos.
  • Sugar – 12 tbsps
  • Cardamom powder – 3/4 tsp
  • Salt – a pinch (optional)
  • Ghee/ Butter – for greasing
  • Cashews & Raisins – for decorating

Method:

  • Steam the plantains and chop into small pieces.
  • Blend the plantain, sugar , eggs, salt and cardamom powder in a blender till it forms a smooth batter.
  • Grease an 8 inch non stick deep pan and pour the prepared batter into it. Tap the pan on the kitchen counter to break air bubbles if any.
  • Place an iron tray beneath the pan to avoid direct heat. Cook covered on low flame.
  • Decorate with cashews and raisins when the batter begins to solidify (or the nuts and raisins will sink to the bottom).
  • The cake is ready when a skewer inserted into it comes out clean.
  • Allow to cool for 10 to 15 mins before removing from pan.
  • Cut into squares or wedges and enjoy!!
